California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC) Certification Pathways
The California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC) was created by the California Legislature through the enactment of California Business and Professions Code for several reasons. The massage therapy and body work profession needed professional standards by which to operate. These professional standards creates and implements a voluntary certification pathway for the massage therapists. It also enables consumers to easily identify credible Certified Massage Therapists (CMTs).
The CAMTC oversee the different levels of state licensing to ensure that CMTs have sufficient training from approved school and that their education and training are on a consistent level with other states. They also approve massage therapy schools.
Some basic information about your Massage Therapist Certification and Licensing:
California State Licensing
There are two levels of licensing education in the State of California:
- 500 Hours – State Licensed as “Certified Massage Therapist”
- 250 Hours – State Licensed as “Certified Massage Practitioner”. This level grandfathered and no longer available.
Requirements for State Licensing in California
You will need to send in the required forms and applicable copies of the required information. Generally, when you order your transcripts and do your live scan finger prints, your massage school and the fingerprints will be sent to CAMTC for you as part of your fee.
- A completed CAMTC application and non-refundable application fee (currently $150)
- To request Transcripts
- Live Scan/ Fingerprinting (expect to pay $80-$90)
- Passport picture
- Drivers License
Click on this CAMTC link to find out more information about your Certification.
Hands on Healing Institute offer a class for MBLEx Test Prep